forum

[invalid] [Proposal] [Mania] Add rules against HT PP mapping

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
abraker
I am going to focus on Duplicity Shade because I think it's the greatest offender in all of this. As of writing the difference between top no mod and top HT plays on the map is about 40 pp. To give another perspective, a 98% no mod is equivalent to 99.8% HT in terms of pp. This feels very wrong and I believe it should not happen.

An obvious solution would be to fix the PP system. As a PP dev myself, I have not looked at the problem in detail, but I guarantee you it will involve a lot of code and weeks of development. Definitely too much effort to spend on this silly problem and too long of a wait. Besides there is a much easier fix that can resolve this faster. Just modify the ranking criteria!

This is why I propose the following wording under overall rules:
Max PP for HT mod must not be worth more than 75% the max PP of no mod
Ryu Sei
I don't see why this is a necessity. Enforcing a map's PP gain is a huge gatekeep for mapping community.

I think I know where does that 75% number come from. It is from the fact where HT actually the same as 75% rate, right? Unfortunately this is *not* the case. There are multiple factors including pattern complexity that complicates the star rating to determine the SR.

Enforcing it via rules is just a blunder move, since players should've rewarded for their play for ranked maps, regardless if it's HT, normal speed, or DT. I just say it would be great if the mania SR is tweaked a bit for HT maps.

By the way, I checked the map and run it through rate changer. The rate-changed map with no mods and the original map with HT has roughly local SR value (12.08 vs 12.1).
Ballistic